Magical Creatures

February 20, 2011 at 1:02 am 1 comment

Hi all! Another week has flown by and it’s time for another Corrosive Challenge. This week’s theme is “Magical Creatures”. I’ve got to tell you, this card took me ages to make! I was scouring through a bunch of sketches challenges and came across this one from Wild Orchid Challenges:

This card also qualifies for the challenge #105 at Flourishes to use three patterned papers. I’ve had this angel from Flourishes for a little bit but it hadn’t seen any ink yet. Since I consider angels to be magical, I think it fits the challenge criteria nicely, don’t you? At first I tried something different. I had embossed it in gold, but then I thought it would be too bright and wasn’t in the mood to colour it. I’m not sure why I chose to stamp it in blue, but it kept calling to me. I used a blender pen to pull some of the blue from the outline into the the image and added a wee bit of silver to fill in the ribbon. I also sponged around the edge of the image to soften it up. Here it is:

Here is the rest of how the card came together:

Card Stock – 110 lb. white Strathmore (card size is 5.25 x 5.25), Not Quite Navy and Marina Mist (SU)
Patterned Paper – My Mind’s Eye, SU and something else from my stash (!)
Ink – Marina Mist and Sahara Sand (SU), Encore Silver
Stamp – Flourishes
Accessories – White satin ribbon, Bow Easy, EK Success punch, Tattered Angels “Pearl” Glimmer Mist, dimensionals

Thanks for having a look today! I can’t wait to see what you create too!

Donna

Entry filed under: Cards, Corrosive Challenge, Flourishes, Punches, Stampin Up.

Corrosive Challenge #103 – Sketchy Time MOJO #179 – Thanks so much

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kathy  |  February 27, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    Beautiful card!!!! The colors are stunning and go so lovely with this image!!! Love your interpretation of the sketch!
    Thanks so much for playing along with us at WOC!
    :)Kathy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rules of the Nest

Please enjoy your visit and feel free to copy any of our artwork for your personal projects. However, we would ask that you do not use any of our work for submissions or contest entries. When we are inspired by other cardmakers and stampers, we will always give credit where credit is due and we hope you will do the same. Thanks for visiting!

Recent Posts

One Crazy Stamper


