Sweet Little One

August 18, 2010 at 7:53 pm 1 comment

My family & I are recently back from almost 3 weeks on the east coast of Newfoundland where many of my relatives live. We arranged our first ever family reunion. My uncle and two of my cousins were the master minds behind it, working for months to arrange everything. I can’t thank them enough. We took loads of pictures and I’ll upload them in the near future. We even managed to see Killer Whales up close when we were on a whale & puffin watching tour! Apparently, in over 300 trips, these whales have only been seen a few times. We saw a few different pods of whales – how totally cool!

Back to stamping (I didn’t even think of stamping while I was away) – I made a card for a friend who has just had a baby boy. I used the SCS Sketch Challenge (294) for my layout: At first, this sketched looked too daunting to me. I kept looking at it trying to figure out how the layers needed to be laid out. I ended up starting with picking the patterned paper I wanted to use and worked from there. I already had the bottle and rattle image stamped (gratefully borrowed from my friend Joanne). I tried to match up the colours in the patterned paper with copic markers that I have, but it isn’t exactly perfect. Here is the recipe:

Card Stock: 110 lb. White, Certainly Celery, Baja Breeze
Patterned Paper: DCWV Nanna’s Nursery (Baby Boy collection)
Stamps: unknown manufacturer for the bottle/rattle stamp, Holidays & Wishes sentiment from SU
Ink: Momento Tuxedo Black, various copic markers in blue, green, yellow and beige
Accessories: Velvet blue ribbon, self-adhesive rhinestone, dimensionals

That’s all for today. I can’t wait to post some vacation pictures. I just have to retrieve them from my hubby’s computer and put them back on a disk, then upload them to my computer. Ciao for now!

Entry filed under: Cards, Copic Markers, Masculine Cards, Split Coast Stampers Challenges.

Viva la Verve Week 4 Christmas comes early

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. mary marsh  |  August 20, 2010 at 11:36 am

    this is such a sweet baby card-love the layout-great coloring on the image-I think it looks good with the dp you used

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rules of the Nest

Please enjoy your visit and feel free to copy any of our artwork for your personal projects. However, we would ask that you do not use any of our work for submissions or contest entries. When we are inspired by other cardmakers and stampers, we will always give credit where credit is due and we hope you will do the same. Thanks for visiting!

Recent Posts

One Crazy Stamper

One Crazy Stamper


