Let’s Celebrate

June 9, 2010 at 7:29 pm 2 comments

My girlfriend was gratious enough to offer to sell some of my cards for me at her workplace and I was able to get rid of quite a few and make a few dollars in the meantime. She suggested I make more birthday cards and she would sell those as well. I usually make way more cards than I will ever use, even after giving a bunch to family and friends for their own use. I figured I might as well try to recoup even a tiny percentage of what I spend on this addiction! So, here is my card for today’s SCS Sketch Challenge (SC284). I wanted to keep the card fairly simple. I decided to use my Flourishes Calendar Set, featuring the rose image. I coloured the roses yellow, which were my grandfather’s favourite colour. He had lots of roses in his backyard garden in Toronto and when we visited in the summer, I always had my nose stuck in them because they smelled so yummy! I used Papertrey Ink White CS as my base and added some Basic Grey patterned paper for my layers. I contemplated doing some stitching around the layers, but I couldn’t be bothered getting my sewing machine out and then searching for some thread! Instead, I added a few light green self-adhesive rhinestones to the corners. I stamped the rose in Momento Tuxedo Black ink and coloured it with my copics. They are actually brighter IRL. I cut the image out with an oval nestie and popped it up with dimensionals. I tied some ribbon around the card and made the bow with my Bow Easy – love that thing! I tied a light green button from Papertrey Ink with some white embroidery floss. The sentiment is from SU’s On Your Birthday set. Thanks for having a look!

Entry filed under: Cards, Copic Markers, Cuttlebug, Flourishes, Nesties, Paper Trey, Split Coast Stampers Challenges, Stampin Up.

On Your Birthday Eat, Sleep, Stamp

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joanne Lowe  |  June 10, 2010 at 1:10 am

    I’m wondering which Basic Grey collection the DP comes from–it’s gorgeous, is it Origins? I’m hoping so since I’ve just ordered that one! You’ve made one beautiful card and the stitched ribbon adds to it’s crispness, love it!

    I’m thinking of starting my own blog–is it a complicated thing to do? I think I’d really enjoy it.

    Looking forward to our copics certification course on sunday, you’re already coloring so well–I’m the one who needs the help with blending.

    GREAT card, Donna!

    Reply
  • 2. Rosanne  |  June 14, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    Gorgeous card Donna!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rules of the Nest

Please enjoy your visit and feel free to copy any of our artwork for your personal projects. However, we would ask that you do not use any of our work for submissions or contest entries. When we are inspired by other cardmakers and stampers, we will always give credit where credit is due and we hope you will do the same. Thanks for visiting!

Recent Posts

One Crazy Stamper

One Crazy Stamper


