Holiday Foursome

April 25, 2010 at 12:23 pm 8 comments

I had a few stamping pals over yesterday for a playday. We made a few cards, had some treats and caught up on all kinds of stuff. What a fun time! We’ve decided to do this every 6 weeks. Two of us live in the same town about an hour away from the other two. They packed up a box of stuff they wanted to use and I had a “few” supplies out too. My good friend, Laurel, was in awe of my “punch drawer”. I do have a few punches! I decided to print off a few sketch challenges from a few blogs to use as a little inspiration. This helped me catch up on a few that I missed along the way. I’m going to load them all up in one post, so prepare for a long one!

The first sketch is from Amy Rysavy’s Prairie Paper and Ink (AMYRS79) seen here: . All four cards used the same stamp set from Flourishes, which I just received last week. It is called “All that Glitters”. I’m not sure why I wanted to get a Christmas stamp set now, but I guess I figured I will have more cards to make this year to give to family members, so I might as well get started! I’ve loved all of the cards that I have seen in various galleries, so I wanted to give it a shot too. I really liked the simplicity of this sketch. I bought a huge package of Christmas patterned paper, so I plan to use as much up of it as I can this year. Here are the details of my card, which will be the same for all four: image was stamped in Momento Tuxedo Black ink. I used the following copics to colour the image(s) – YG11, YG13, YG17, YG67, R24, R27, R29, R59 and BG000 (outlined the images). I used my nesties to cut out the oval shapes and I coloured the half pearls with a red copic marker. I popped the image up with dimensionals and added the sentiment on the bottom right (SU sentiment). I added stickles to the ornament on the left side – I don’t think it shows up very well in the photo (on the left side).

For my second card, I used the sketch from Verve’s Beach Party 2010 Week 4 challenge (VSAPRBP4). Unfortunately, I didn’t find these challenges until it was too late, so I didn’t have enough time to make other cards for the weekly sketches. I might make a few other cards using these sketches anyway, since I love using sketches brilliant individual’s create! I don’t have an ounce of creativity in my body, so these sketches really make stamping worthwhile for me. I used the same supplies as in my card above, but I forgot to mention I used Papertrey White CS for my card base and used Certainly Celery, Garden Green and Real Red for my accent colours. I added some Real Red 5/8″ grosgrain ribbon and some Papertrey Ink green buttons to this card. I used some green embroidery floss to tie a ribbon the on button as well. The sentiment is from SU’s “All Holidays” set that was stamped in VersaMark and embossed with white EP.

My third card employs a sketch from Our Creative Corner (OCCSC12). For this card, I used a different ornament – this one looks so much like an old fashioned ornament my Baba gave me a long time ago. Her’s was a soft pink colour with glitter on it. I broke it a few years ago, but I’ll always remember it. I feel as though I should have added something to the Certainly Celery panel, but I wanted the ornament to be the focus. Sometimes, I find I just get carried away. I really do like my cards to be simple rather than ornate. The red satin bow is courtesy of Linda, who gave us a little tutorial on how to make good bows. I added the tree branches to the side of the image using Distress ink that I stamped twice. I’m not sure that I should have used brown, but since my ornament was green, I needed to use a different colour.

On to the last card – I made this one this morning. I think it is my favourite of the four. I obtained the sketch from Stampin’ Royalty – Sketch Challenge 16 (SR#16). This also satisfies the Creative Belli Blog challenge this week to use die cuts. I decided to break out my Top Note die from SU, since this was the shape on the sketch challenge image. I haven’t used it in ages. I used 3 ornaments on this card from the “All that Glitters” Flourishes set. I layered the main white panel with a Real Red panel. I used the same copic markers as noted in the first card entry. I had this ribbon in my scrap ribbon bag for about 5 years. My sister bought it to use on some scrapbooking pages she made when we first got into this craft and made scrapbooks for our Dad of her kids as a Christmas present. There was a little left (I try to salvage what I can) and it worked out perfectly – I cut it on either side of the sentiment repeating itself. Gotta love it when that happens! I added three buttons (green from Papertrey Ink. and red from my own stash). I added stickles to the ornaments (red and green). I love how vibrant this is.

I’m goine to make one more card, then duplicate them all to use as a set to give my Aunt (she’ll remember that I promised to make her 20 Christmas cards). Her birthday is coming up, so maybe these will double as her birthday gift. Thanks for bearing with me and having a look. Hope you all have a wonderful day!

Entry filed under: Big Shot, Cards, Copic Markers, Creative Belli Challenge, Cuttlebug, Distress Inks, Flourishes, Nesties, Our Creative Corner Color Challenge, Paper Trey, Prairie Paper and Ink Sketch Challenge, Uncategorized, Verve.

Birthday Wishes Happy Monday

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cindy Coutts  |  April 25, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    I just happened upon these cards right after you uploaded them to the SCS Gallery and then found your blog — and I’m so glad that I did! Your work is wonderful and so inspirational! Thank you for sharing your lovely projects!

    Reply
  • 2. Sarah  |  April 25, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    These are wonderful! Thanks for joining us for the OCC Sketch challenge this week!

    Reply
  • 3. Joy Hadden  |  April 25, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    Great idea to get a head start on your Christmas cards! All of them are lovely! Thanks for participating in the Creative Belli Challenge.

    Reply
  • 4. Shanda Stirk  |  April 25, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    All your Christmas cards are lovely – great designs and colors. The glitter is lovely! Thanks for playing with us at Stampin’ Royalty.

    Reply
  • 5. Sarah N.  |  April 26, 2010 at 1:57 am

    Very pretty! Great idea to get started ahead on Christmas! Thanks for playing along with us at Stampin’ Royalty!

    Reply
  • 6. Sabriena Satchwell  |  April 26, 2010 at 4:05 pm

    Super cute cards! I love the stamp sets you used. Thanks so much for playing with us this week at Stampin’ Royalty. 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. Jennifer Stricker  |  April 27, 2010 at 11:54 am

    Super pretty. Great inspiration. I too have that set form Flourishes. Great take on the sketch. Thanks for playing with OCC, hope you join us again.

    Reply
  • 8. sandra farrell  |  April 27, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    Great card! I love what you did with the sketch. Thanks for playing with us at Stampin’ Royalty.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rules of the Nest

Please enjoy your visit and feel free to copy any of our artwork for your personal projects. However, we would ask that you do not use any of our work for submissions or contest entries. When we are inspired by other cardmakers and stampers, we will always give credit where credit is due and we hope you will do the same. Thanks for visiting!

Recent Posts

One Crazy Stamper

One Crazy Stamper


