Birthday Wishes

April 21, 2010 at 12:11 pm Leave a comment

It is my DH’s birthday tomorrow, but since his mom and sister and family are coming over for dinner, we’ll celebrate today. I thought I had better make him a card for the occasion. I used the layout from Flourishes Timesless Tuesday sketch challenge (FTTC63). I started the card by picking the patterned paper. I just reorganized all of my patterned paper and when I came across this sheet, I knew I’d use it for my card. I then decided on the stamp. I had a bunch of different images out on my counter but had to find one that was big enough. I ended up using Hammock Riley. I figured my DH could use a little R & R. He’s been busy repainting and repairing some rooms in the house. I hadn’t used copic markers with this stamp before, so I gave it a shot. I found the sand and sky a little tricky – I didn’t want to add too much colour so I just whirled the marker around in circles. The sky actually looks like it has little clouds swirling around – not sure if that comes through in the photo. I like the way the colouring turned out, but I know I still have a long way to go to learn how to use copic markers properly. Anyway, I layered some dark blue CS on top of the Kraft card base (card measures 5.25 x 5.25). I added 3 horizontal white panels on top of that and then my 3 patterned paper panels. I added brownishbrads to the corner to make it a little more masculine. Hubby is a no-ribbon-on-a-guy-card fellow. I cut the image with my round nesties and popped it up with some foam tape for a wee bit of dimension. I stamped the sentiment (don’t know who made it) in Momento Rich Cocoa. I hope DH likes it!

Entry filed under: Cards, Copic Markers, Cuttlebug, Flourishes, Masculine Cards, Nesties.

More retiring colors Holiday Foursome

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rules of the Nest

Please enjoy your visit and feel free to copy any of our artwork for your personal projects. However, we would ask that you do not use any of our work for submissions or contest entries. When we are inspired by other cardmakers and stampers, we will always give credit where credit is due and we hope you will do the same. Thanks for visiting!

Recent Posts

One Crazy Stamper


