Sweet Sunday

April 18, 2010 at 10:03 pm 1 comment

The weather is beautiful today – we were supposed to get rain, but the sun is shining and it is a lovely temperature. I’ll have to get one of my boys to cut the grass (first time this year!!). I have spent the last week cleaning up my craft room and reorganizing my paper (to move the retiring SU stuff to a different area) and relabelling my card stock shelves (I’m waiting with baited breath for the new SU stuff to be available!). I have also convinced my DH that he has to build me more shelving for my paper. I took apart the 12 x 12 paper rack I have and resorted it all. I feel like I can now navigate around with more ease.

Anyway, I got a chance to make a card today and used the Sweet Sunday Sketch Challenge SSSC65 for my layout inspiration. I am selling a few things and I’m giving this card to the customer as a thank you card. I have to say, I’m really disappointed that Ruby Red is leaving the SU color family. I will definitely get another package of card stock before it retires. I do like Riding Hood Red, so at least there is a go-to color that is similar. Ok, here are the details for my card: the card base is Ruby Red and I added a panel of Martha Stewart “heirloom” patterned paper over top. I used a coordinating patterned paper, layered with Ruby Red on the horizontal panel. I stamped the flower image and the sentiment from Flourish’s “From the Garden” in Momento Rich Cocoa and colored with with copic markers. I cut out the image with my nesties die and sponged Pretty in Pink and Ruby Red around the edge. I added a prima flower embellishment (with Gina K. button) onto the panel as well as some Riding Hood Red grosgrain ribbon (attached with a mini glue dot). I think the card is pretty simple, but I like the way it turned out. Thanks for having a look!.

Entry filed under: Cards, Copic Markers, Cuttlebug, Flourishes, Nesties, Sweet Sunday Sketch Challenge.

Baja’s Back! Beautiful Butterflies

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Joanne Lowe  |  April 20, 2010 at 7:53 am

    Hello Donna, I love this card, you’ve balanced the elements so that the focal element is the stamped image–that’s what I think should shine too. You’ve inspired me to pull out one of my new Flourishes sets, so that I can start coloring floral images with my new copics. Thank you for sharing your considerable talent with all of us. Looking forward to seeing what you create next!

    Blessings,

    Joanne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rules of the Nest

Please enjoy your visit and feel free to copy any of our artwork for your personal projects. However, we would ask that you do not use any of our work for submissions or contest entries. When we are inspired by other cardmakers and stampers, we will always give credit where credit is due and we hope you will do the same. Thanks for visiting!

Recent Posts

One Crazy Stamper

One Crazy Stamper


