Baja’s Back!

April 11, 2010 at 10:47 pm 1 comment

Well I’m sure everyone has heard that Stampin’ Up! is going through a “Color Renovation” with the upcoming catalogue. Fortunately, they are bringing back some of my favorite In-Colors that had been previously retired. Woohoo! I’ll have to stock up on a few packages of current card stock colors that will be retiring. There are 30 colors that are going! I have to admit, I was a bit shocked at first, but the more I look at the new colors and color groupings, the more I like them. The only thing I think that is missing is some kind of soft purple color. I really don’t use much purple anyway, so I don’t think I’ll miss them much.

This was a long explanation for me to get to my point! I dedicate this card to the return of Baja Breeze. I only had scraps of card stock as well as DSP left in my stash, but I had enough for this card. I also had a bunch of felt flowers left (one of those products that I hoarded instead of used). I ended up putting a bunch of felt flowers together, combining the Baja Breeze, Chocolate Chip and Pretty in Pink. Now I’ll be using them on lots more cards. I really need to start using some of the gazillion embellishments I have in my craft room.

Here is the Sweet Sunday Sketch Challenge (SSSC64) at Karen Giron’s blog. I thought this was a great sketch and I loved the samples that were shown. My card measures 5″ x 5″. I used Chocolate Chip as my card base and layered some Baja Breeze over that. I used some of the DSP along with some Baja Breeze grosgrain ribbon and adhered that to the card. I used my square scalloped nesties (I think for the first time) on some coordinating DSP and then layered that on some white card stock with the corners rounded. I adhered the felt flowers (with clear rhinestone brads) with some glue dots to the DSP. I stamped Gina K.’s Tag Lines sentiment in Chocolate Chip on white CS and punched it with the Word Window Punch. I layered that on some Chocolate Chip and again with Baja Breeze using a SU punch and die. This card took me WAY longer than it ever should have! Thanks for having a look!

Entry filed under: Big Shot, Cards, Gina K, Nesties, Punches, Sweet Sunday Sketch Challenge.

There’s No Tie… Sweet Sunday

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Karen Giron  |  April 12, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    LOVE those felt flowers – how darling!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rules of the Nest

Please enjoy your visit and feel free to copy any of our artwork for your personal projects. However, we would ask that you do not use any of our work for submissions or contest entries. When we are inspired by other cardmakers and stampers, we will always give credit where credit is due and we hope you will do the same. Thanks for visiting!

Recent Posts

One Crazy Stamper


