Sweet Child

April 1, 2010 at 9:40 pm Leave a comment

I don’t often play in the SCS Ways to Use It Challenge, and I really wasn’t going to play today because the challenge was to make a card with a “children theme” as there have been a proliferation of stamp images of children. Personally, those kind of stamps are not really my style, but I am always amazed at the awesome coloring that is done with them. I don’t have many girls in my life – I have two teenaged boys and most of my friends have boys. The only girl in the immediate family is my niece, and she is almost 21 (yikes – where did all of those years go?) and absolutely gorgeous. Her birthday is coming up this month, so I thought I’d try to use this challenge to create a card for her. I had printed off an Our Creative Corner sketch some time ago, so used that as my layout. I can’t find when it was posted, so I am unable to attach a thumbnail of the sketch. The card base is Papertrey Vintage Cream (5.25 x 5.25) and I added a layer of Pink Pirouette with the corners rounded. I added some patterned paper from My Mind’s Eye that has “princess” all over it. I stamped the shirt from Gina K. Designs “Little Tees” twice – once on Vintage Cream with Chocoloate Chip Kraft ink and embossed with clear embossing powder, then cut out and once on the same patterned paper and cut out and paper pieced. I popped the shirt up on the Vintage Cream which was also layered on Pink Pirouette and Chocolate Chip, which I had used the scallop trim border punch and scallop border corner punch. This image was popped up as well. The horizontal layer is Choc. Chip with the scallop trim border punched with Pink Pirouette on top. I used some coordinating ribbon and added one of my Baba’s brown buttons tied with some embroidery floss. I hope she likes it. I’m having 18 people here for Easter dinner, so I’m going to be a busy girl over the next couple of days. I’m not sure how much stamping I’ll get done, but hopefully I can squeeze in a card or two .Thanks for having a look!

Entry filed under: Cards, Gina K, Our Creative Corner Color Challenge, Paper Piecing, Paper Trey, Punches, Split Coast Stampers Challenges.

Timeless Tuesday? Mercy Me! Dance, Sing, Live

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rules of the Nest

Please enjoy your visit and feel free to copy any of our artwork for your personal projects. However, we would ask that you do not use any of our work for submissions or contest entries. When we are inspired by other cardmakers and stampers, we will always give credit where credit is due and we hope you will do the same. Thanks for visiting!

Recent Posts

One Crazy Stamper


