March Verve Challenge – Week 3

March 15, 2010 at 9:36 pm Leave a comment

I started participating in the Verve challenges a few months ago. Each week within the month there is a new sketch and choice of inspiration photos to help us create a card. I’m so happy to be given these things ideas – it usually takes me a couple of days to figure out what image and what papers to use. Here are the sketch and the inspiration piece I used: I am really loving the Flourishes Calendar sets, especially using VersaMark and my Stampin’ Up! pastels, which hadn’t seen any use in a long time. I prefer to chalk these images instead of using copics. I find when I stamp these flowers with ink, I can’t get the color the way I want and it just looks like a big blob. I like the softness the chalks create. Here is the recipe for the card:
Card base – Flourishes cream CS
Next layer – patterned paper
Right panel – same patterned paper as the left side, just flipped over and layered with Certainly Celery CS
Main Image – Flourishes Calendar 2 (Roses), stamped with Versa Mark and colored with SU pastels and cut out using Nestabilities
Sentiment – Verve (Forever in Our Thoughts) cut out with a Nestabilities tab and layered with Pretty in Pink CS
Ribbon – off white organdy ribbon with a silver edge (from the Dollar store)

That’s it – I wanted to keep it fairly simple. I appreciate you having a look. I’d love for you to visit again soon!

Entry filed under: Cards, Cuttlebug, Nesties, Stampin Up.

Easter Mojo Sweet Friend

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rules of the Nest

Please enjoy your visit and feel free to copy any of our artwork for your personal projects. However, we would ask that you do not use any of our work for submissions or contest entries. When we are inspired by other cardmakers and stampers, we will always give credit where credit is due and we hope you will do the same. Thanks for visiting!

Recent Posts

One Crazy Stamper

One Crazy Stamper


