Togetherness…

March 6, 2010 at 7:18 pm Leave a comment

I am a week behind in the Viva la Verve Challenge for March, so I made last week’s card and this week’s card. For the challenge, we are given a sketch and a few inspiration photos to choose from. Here is the sketch and here is the inspiration photo I used: I chose the strawberry image within the photo. I wish I had the Flourishes Strawberry set because it would have looked a lot closer to the inspiration. I don’t, so I this is what I ended up with: I used the strawberry image from Taylored Expressions’ Berries & Cherries set. The sentiment is from Verve’s Forever in our Hearts. I love how the sentiment works so well with this set! The card measures 5.25 x 5.25 and the base is Basic Black. I layered some red gingham patterned paper on top. I wanted to incorporate a bit of the blue color, so used the bottom square panels for that purpose in Baroque Blue, layered with Basic Black. I colored the berries and basket with copics and stamped the sentiment in Momento Tuxedo Black ink. I used my Nesties Labels One to cut it out and layered that with Basic Black. I used a hand-held punch and fed some Riding Hood Red ribbon through it and ited it with a blue button and a bit of hemp. I think it is missing something on the bottom. Maybe I’ll add a few rhinestones (my favorite embellishment!) to the bottom.

For the current week’s challenge, the sketch was this lovely image. I couldn’t decide on what inspiration photo to use, so I incorporated two of them using the lime green backsplash and the retro kitchen with the teal color and the hint of red .
For this card, my base is Papertrey Ink. white CS and I layered it with Baja Breeze. I layered that with some polka dot lime green paper. My other layers were some Basic Gray striped patterned paper layered with Real Red. I also used a lime green panel that I ran through the Cuttlebug with the Swirly embossing folder and layered with Baja Breeze. I tied a red ribbon around the smaller panels and tied a white button from my Baba with some white embroidery floss. The butterfly and sentiment are from SU’s Flight of the Butterfly set. I stamped the background in Green Galore ink as well as Aloe Vera Versa Magic Chalk ink. I stamped over that with the polka dot image using my stamp-a-ma-jig in Baja Breeze. I punched it out with the SU butterfly punch. I popped it up with half of a dimensional and popped up that panel with dimensionals too. I am going to add some teal colored rhinestones to the right side of the main image as well. Thanks for having a look at my cards today. My DH and his nephew are busy cooking up a storm – they are preparing some lamb dish and a salad of some sort to take to our neighbours for a Saturday night get-together.

Entry filed under: 2-step stamping, Cards, Copic Markers, Cuttlebug, Embossing, Nesties, Paper Trey, Punches, Split Coast Stampers Challenges, Stampin Up, Taylored Expressions Challenge.

Cool Beans Vintage Friends

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rules of the Nest

Please enjoy your visit and feel free to copy any of our artwork for your personal projects. However, we would ask that you do not use any of our work for submissions or contest entries. When we are inspired by other cardmakers and stampers, we will always give credit where credit is due and we hope you will do the same. Thanks for visiting!

Recent Posts

One Crazy Stamper


