Best Friend

March 4, 2010 at 11:34 am 5 comments

Well, I don’t often play the SCS Ways To Use It Challenge, but I took a quick peek, and as soon as I saw what the challenge was, I knew I’d be able to make a card without any trouble at all! The challenge called for us to design a card around things you play. My best friend, Lesley, and I usually play Yahtzee every Friday night – it’s a crazy ritual thing we started about a year ago and we can’t stop – usually, with a bottle (or two) of wine. If we are in the mood, we might switch over to Scrabble, and invite my DH to play. He kicks our butts most times, but I thought I’d go with this theme in my card, since I had Scrabble patterned paper in my stash. I also had these letters, which originally started off as tags, but I was able to use scissors to cut the tops off! I added the corresponding number to the bottom right of each “tile” with a black SU marker, then glued them on with glue dots. I stamped the SU sentiment in Momento Tuxedo Black ink and punched it with the 1 3/8″ circle punch. I used the circle scallop punch to frame the sentiment in both Blush Blossom and Baja Breeze. I added some self-adhesive rhinestones around the scallops and a little piece of ribbon. I popped this up to make it the same height as the tiles. The scrabble paper is layered with Baja Breeze and the card base is Sahara Sand. Ok, now I have to get back to work! Thanks for having a peek!

Entry filed under: Cards, Punches, Split Coast Stampers Challenges, Stampin Up.

Cakeabella Wishes Cool Beans

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mary marsh  |  March 4, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    this is really a cute card-love the scrabble themed paper and your colors are great-nice work on this challenge

    Reply
  • 2. Pat Jones  |  March 4, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    This card is adorable. My mom is a scrabble fan. I would like to case this card for her birthday. Where can I find the scrabble paper?

    Reply
    • 3. Donna  |  March 4, 2010 at 11:56 pm

      Pat, the paper is made by EK Success and I believe I bought it at Michael’s, but a few year back. It is a 12 x 12 sheet. Hope you can find it!

      Reply
  • 4. Julie Ranae  |  March 4, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    What a fun entry for this week’s Ways to Use it Challenge!
    Great use of the theme and it definitely could be used for male or female Great job!

    You definitely are a girl who loves challenges, so please come play with us over at The Play Date Cafe….your style would be VERY welcome : )

    Reply
  • 5. Beth  |  March 4, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    Your friend will get a kick out of this card on Friday night 🙂 Love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rules of the Nest

Please enjoy your visit and feel free to copy any of our artwork for your personal projects. However, we would ask that you do not use any of our work for submissions or contest entries. When we are inspired by other cardmakers and stampers, we will always give credit where credit is due and we hope you will do the same. Thanks for visiting!

Recent Posts

One Crazy Stamper


