Taylored Expressions Cupcake Challenge #60

March 22, 2009 at 9:58 am 4 comments

I fell in love with this sketch from Taylored Expressions as soon as I saw it! I can envision quite a few possibilities with it. I dug around in my non S-U stamps for an image that I hoped would really show this great sketch off. My sister bought a wedding set of stamps from Inkadinkado that I don’t think ever saw ink. That was it! I knew this beautiful dress needed some love. I stamped it in Black Stazon on watercolour paper and coloured it with various S-U inks using my aquapainter. There was a lot of empty space on the upper right side, so I dug through my big stash of primas and tried to find a couple of flowers to layer with coordinating colours. It took me about 2 hours to figure that out and in the end, I had to use reinkers to paint the rose flower in the middle. I was mucking around with these puppies that the petals were starting to come off! Of course, I didn’t have a small pink rhinestone brad (well I did, but it was attached to another flower somewhere in the pile, so I had to search for that too). I cut out the dress with nesties and layered it on a Regal Rose panel, then a Barely Banana scalloped panel. My card base is Gina K. 120 lb. white and I added a panel of Barely Banana. On top of that is a Regal Rose panel and on top of that is a sheet of patterned paper from the Bella Bleu line. As accents, I used the scallop border punch on the patterned paper and added a little bit of fancy pants ribbon. I am happy with the way this one turned out!
Entry filed under: Cards, Nesties, Taylored Expressions Challenge, Watercolour.

K Werner Color Challenge 46 Tea for Three – Weekend Sketch Challenge 73

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cathy  |  March 22, 2009 at 11:06 am

    This is so pretty, Donna! I’m glad you got your groove back!

    Reply
  • 2. Lisa Graves  |  March 22, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    Beautiful card! Love the colors.

    Reply
  • 3. Winter  |  March 22, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    This is beautiful! Love that lace ribbon!

    Reply
  • 4. itsabrt  |  March 24, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    I also love the way this turned out! BR-T

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rules of the Nest

Please enjoy your visit and feel free to copy any of our artwork for your personal projects. However, we would ask that you do not use any of our work for submissions or contest entries. When we are inspired by other cardmakers and stampers, we will always give credit where credit is due and we hope you will do the same. Thanks for visiting!

Recent Posts

One Crazy Stamper

One Crazy Stamper


