Brian, Don’t Look!

March 16, 2009 at 11:28 am 17 comments

Not that I really think my DH is checking out my blog at work today – but just in case!

I made this card for today’s Mojo Monday Sketch Challenge – you can see the sketch and Donn’s card in Donna’s last post, below.

I just loved this sketch! I had additional inspiration from my hero, Mel McCarthy over at Mel Stampz. Her blog is so full of great tips, techniques, templates and truly original and lovely artwork that I will never be able to work through all the ideas she so generously shares. Love ya’, Mel ; ) !!!

I downloaded a terrific text page from her site and used it as the background for my stamped image. The image, from Sunshine Designs, is coloured with Copic markers and the background is sponged with a combination of Weathered Wood Distress Ink and Adirondack Stonewashed Dye Ink. I did an oops when I removed my mask, so I stamped a tiny chickadee from Inkadinkado and popped it over top to cover it! The patterned papers are from the Basic Grey Granola line.

As it came together, I started to think that it was looking very clean and masculine, so I decided that I would tuck this card away to give to my hubby on our (gulp)! 20th anniversary in a few weeks. As it’s for Brian, I restrained myself from adding glitter and fiddly bits I actually really like how this card came out. Honestly, I don’t think it needs anything else!

Entry filed under: Cards, Copic Markers, Masculine Cards, Mojo Monday Sketch Challenge.

Mojo Monday Week 78 Mojo Monday Week 78

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Loz  |  March 16, 2009 at 11:52 am

    Very Beautiful card. Great colour combo..Loz

    Reply
  • 2. naveni  |  March 16, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    Lovely card. I like the idea with the background.

    Reply
  • 3. Alicia  |  March 16, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    sweet sentiment and a lovely image great coloring.

    Reply
  • 4. Amy  |  March 16, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    Love what you did with the sketch!! Very cool color combo!

    Reply
  • 5. Helen  |  March 16, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    A great card! It’s so good to see a masculine one too!
    Helen x

    Reply
  • 6. Krista Driessen  |  March 16, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    I looove this card, such a nice tree ! Your other card is gorgeous too !

    Reply
  • 7. joey  |  March 16, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    Hi, I love this, such a great use of papers, the stamped image is fabulous. Joey.xxx

    Reply
  • 8. Sharon Field / Created By You  |  March 16, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    WOW.. LOVE this card!! Great job on the challente!

    Reply
  • 9. jessica  |  March 16, 2009 at 6:52 pm

    what a simply stunning card! great take on the sketch!!

    Reply
  • 10. JOY  |  March 16, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    Amazing card Cathy!
    What template did you download for the background
    paper?
    Love it.

    Reply
  • 11. Jenny Bamford-Perkins  |  March 16, 2009 at 7:56 pm

    Your car is just beautiful!!

    Reply
  • 12. Jenny Bamford-Perkins  |  March 16, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    ugh, that is supposed to say Your card is beautiful!! Sorry about the typo! 😉

    Reply
  • 13. Kay Kalthoff  |  March 16, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    Ooooh, love your colors and image! Great job on the mojo sketch!
    Kay

    Reply
  • 14. Kristen Hermanny  |  March 16, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    This is gorgeous. I never thought to stamp on text like you have done here. Your images are great! And I love Basic Grey Paper. This is a wonderful card. Love, Love, Love it!!!

    Reply
  • 15. Julee (Vervegirl)  |  March 18, 2009 at 3:50 am

    Just beautiful. Love the coloring and the stamping on the text paper. Thanks for playing! 🙂

    Reply
  • 16. Terri E.  |  March 18, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    Wow this is stunning! I love how you layered so many images on your main piece. Great job with the sketch.

    It’s a good life!
    Terri E.

    Reply
  • 17. ~Christina~  |  March 19, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    WOW!!! This is stunning!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rules of the Nest

Please enjoy your visit and feel free to copy any of our artwork for your personal projects. However, we would ask that you do not use any of our work for submissions or contest entries. When we are inspired by other cardmakers and stampers, we will always give credit where credit is due and we hope you will do the same. Thanks for visiting!

Recent Posts

One Crazy Stamper

One Crazy Stamper


