Dotty Dances

February 17, 2009 at 4:23 pm 2 comments

Whenever life gets me down, I pull out this rubber stamp from Artistic Impressions. Her name is Dotty and I adore her! If Dotty were a little younger, I’d say she’s living with a severe case of denial. But since she is a woman of a certain age, I choose to believe her utter disregard for reality comes from widsom and experience! Either way, she always cheers me up!

This is a very simple card. I wanted to play with my Copic Markers and different shading techniques. I went for a smooth blend for most of the image, using the colours pictured below. I find that if I colour over the entire area with the lightest shade after I add shading, I get the most subtle results. On her purple dress however, I broke all the rules and used colours that were a more dramatic contrast and I didn’t attempt to blend at all, just layered the colours on. I like both effects! Because I didn’t own a brown Copic when I did this card, I made my own by combining the orange and blue to create Dotty’s unique hair colour.

When I was happy with the colouring, I just trimmed my image out and mounted her on a very simple graphic background using foam adhesive. The sentiment is from an Inkadinkado set and just seemed to fit!
I hope you enjoy Dotty as much as I do!

Entry filed under: Artistic Impressions, Cards, Copic Markers.

Who is that Masked Bird? Who is that Masked Bird?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karen Motz  |  February 17, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    She’s a scream! I like your shading technique on her dress…it seems to really add movement. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Dana White  |  February 19, 2009 at 5:28 am

    I love her; that’s gonna be all of us one day not caring what anyone thinks just being happy!!
    Great card Cathy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rules of the Nest

Please enjoy your visit and feel free to copy any of our artwork for your personal projects. However, we would ask that you do not use any of our work for submissions or contest entries. When we are inspired by other cardmakers and stampers, we will always give credit where credit is due and we hope you will do the same. Thanks for visiting!

Recent Posts

One Crazy Stamper

One Crazy Stamper


