I’m Feeling the Love….

February 6, 2009 at 4:34 pm 5 comments

I’m not usually a big Valentine’s Day girl, but when I saw this great paper from K and Company, I felt inspired to spread a little love! The first card, I made for my husband. It looks kind of old and raggedy (much like himself)!

It involves podging waxed paper to a cardstock panel and running it through your machine with an embossing folder. Then I alternated inking and sanding the panel until I got the kind of effect I wanted – kind of like an ancient fresco. I loved the texture on this panel! Then I just layered it up with some masculine (sort of) colours, ribbon, brads, and an embossed cuttlebug heart. The central image is cut from the K and Co. Paper and mounted over top.

Then I decided to make a second card for my son. This one is a little more colourful (much like himself)!

This one started as a plain white cardstock panel, embossed with the perfectly paisley cuttlebug folder then coloured with oil pastels on the raised images. I coated the whole thing with two coats of gesso, then sanded it selectively when dry to reveal more of the colours underneath. Love it! I cut the wave edge by hand and did lots of layering. Another image from the K and Co. paper, some ribbons and brads and it was done.

I’m really enjoying these cuttlebug techniques. There is a tutorial up today at Mel Stampz on how to make your own embossing folders! I can’t wait to try it!

Entry filed under: Cards, Cuttlebug, Gesso.

Musings on Imperfection I’m Feeling the Love….

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jacque4u2c  |  February 6, 2009 at 5:44 pm

    Stunning!

    Reply
  • 2. Dana White  |  February 6, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    WOW Cathy this is stunning!!!

    Reply
  • 3. Mel M. M. McCarthy  |  February 7, 2009 at 11:27 am

    Awesome! I am so flattered (and excited) that you're joining me in my mod podge & gesso insanity! I can't get enough of the goopy stuff. Your cards are fantastic! Love the layouts! Can't wait to see & read about your embossing folder adventures. :O)

    Reply
  • 4. Sue  |  February 10, 2009 at 8:59 am

    Cathy

    These are great. Can the podging waxed paper technique be done in one of your classes?

    Sue

    Reply
  • 5. Karen Motz  |  February 11, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    Cathy, you always amaze me with all the techniques you use…they’re so cool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Rules of the Nest

Please enjoy your visit and feel free to copy any of our artwork for your personal projects. However, we would ask that you do not use any of our work for submissions or contest entries. When we are inspired by other cardmakers and stampers, we will always give credit where credit is due and we hope you will do the same. Thanks for visiting!

Recent Posts

One Crazy Stamper

One Crazy Stamper


